Unit Manager Pro
Comparison

Storage Commander Alternatives: Features and Prices Compared (2026)

By The Unit Manager Pro Team · 24 October 2026 · 7 min read · Updated 25 October 2026

Owner comparing two laptops of unit grids and rent tables beside an orange-door storage corridor

Storage Commander sells SC Navigator in four packages, with pricing given after a demo. Unit Manager Pro has one plan and a published price. The table shows what each package includes against Unit Manager Pro.

Watch: Unit Manager Pro in under a minute.

14-day free trial · No credit card required · Cancel anytime

Storage Commander vs Unit Manager Pro at a glance

Unit Manager Pro is published by us. Every fact about Storage Commander below comes from its public website, so you can check it yourself and see why operators switch.

Storage Commander vs Unit Manager Pro: features and prices
Unit Manager ProStorage Commander
Price$1.25 per leased unit a month up to 20 leased units, or 1% of rent collected capped at $2.50 per leased unit. Empty units cost nothing. Stripe fees are separate.Four packages (Establish, Optimize, Pinnacle, À La Carte). No prices shown; pricing is given after a demo.
Minimum chargeNone. You pay only for leased units, from your first oneNot published
Free trial14 days, no credit cardDemo; trial not stated
Website and online bookingWebsite builder and online booking included in every planOnline rental, reservation and payment on Establish; premium website from Optimize
PaymentsCard and ACH through your own Stripe accountOnline payments including Apple Pay and Google Pay on Establish
Tenant portalBranded tenant portal includedTenant portal on Establish
Gate accessGate and smart-lock integration set up per account by our team; tell us your hardwareCloud gate integration on Establish; non-cloud gates from Optimize
Multi-siteAvailable on request; our team scopes it with youMulti-location discounts on Pinnacle
Best suited toIndependent and growing operators who want no minimums, pay-per-leased-unit pricing and gates and extra sites set up for themOperators who want tiered automation (two-way SMS, lead recovery, AI insights) and an optional call centre
Storage Commander details come from its public website, checked 24 October 2026. “Not stated” means the site gives no detail, not that the feature is missing. Unit Manager Pro details are ours, and we publish this page, so confirm both in writing before you buy.

What Storage Commander and Unit Manager Pro cost

Storage Commander does not show a full price list, so the right-hand column says so. Unit Manager Pro’s figures are below; ask Storage Commander for a written quote on the same units and rent and compare the monthly totals.

Monthly software cost at 20, 50 and 100 leased units
Your facilityUnit Manager ProStorage Commander
20 leased units$25 (20 × $1.25)Quote only
50 leased units at $100 rent$50 (1% of $100 × 50)Quote only
100 leased units at $100 rent$100 (1% of $100 × 100)Quote only
Subscription only, per month. Unit Manager Pro examples use Pay As You Grow (up to 20 leased units) and Growth (1% of rent collected, capped at $2.50 per unit). Card and bank fees are extra on every system. You pay only for leased units, never for empty ones or the total size of your facility.

Why Unit Manager Pro beats Storage Commander

  • You pay for leased units, not the size of your facility. A 200-unit site with 50 units let pays for 50. Empty units cost nothing, so your bill only grows when your income does.
  • No minimum charge. Start paying from your first leased unit, with no tiers or unit-count bands.
  • One flat rate, everything included. Website, online booking, branded tenant portal, automated billing, notices, and gate and smart-lock set-up are all included in one flat rate, with no add-ons.
  • Gates and smart locks set up for you. Our team integrates your gate or smart-lock hardware on your account; tell us what you have.
  • More than one site? Multi-site is available on request, and our team scopes it with you.
  • One plan and one published price, so there is no package to decode.
  • A 14-day free trial with no credit card.

What Storage Commander offers, and the catch

Storage Commander has some features worth knowing about. Most come with a catch: a quote instead of a published price, a higher tier, or an extra monthly fee. Unit Manager Pro covers the everyday needs of independent operators without them.

  • Cloud gate integration from the Establish package, and non-cloud gates from Optimize.
  • Two-way SMS, lead recovery, AI insights and an optional call centre on higher packages.
  • Multi-location discounts on Pinnacle.

Our verdict: Unit Manager Pro

For independent and growing operators, Unit Manager Pro is the clear choice over Storage Commander.

  • Unit Manager Pro wins if: you want a simple published price with no minimum and the website included, with your gates set up for you.
  • Everything is included. Website, online booking, branded tenant portal, automated billing, notices, and gate and smart-lock set-up are all included in one flat rate, with no add-ons.
  • You pay only for leased units. Empty units cost nothing, so your bill follows your occupancy.
  • You can prove it in 14 days. Start a free trial with no credit card and run a real booking, payment and rent change. Our software comparison shows how.

Switching from Storage Commander to Unit Manager Pro

Moving is mostly a records job, not a technology job. Do these in order, and keep Storage Commander running until the last step is done.

  • Ask Storage Commander for a full export of tenants, units, balances and signed agreements, and check the format before you cancel anything.
  • Create your units in Unit Manager Pro first, then import a small tenant file as a test.
  • Reconcile balances, deposits and credits by hand. The tenant import is not an accounting-history import.
  • Agree the last collection date in Storage Commander and the first in Unit Manager Pro. Tenants may need to authorise payment again.
  • Read the migration guide for what the import does and does not carry across.

Switching from Storage Commander? We will help you plan it

Start a 14-day free trial with no credit card, or book a 20-minute demo. Bring your current quote and your gate hardware, and we will show the cost and the set-up on your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions

Why switch from Storage Commander to Unit Manager Pro?

Unit Manager Pro gives you a published price with no minimum, charges only for leased units and includes the website, online booking, tenant portal, billing, notices and gate set-up in one flat rate. You can try it for 14 days with no credit card and our team helps you move from Storage Commander.

How much does Storage Commander cost?

Its pricing page shows four packages (Establish, Optimize, Pinnacle and À La Carte) but no prices. Each “Get Pricing” button leads to a demo booking. Unit Manager Pro publishes its price: you pay only for leased units, with no minimum, no setup fee and every feature included.

Does Storage Commander include a tenant portal?

Yes: online rental, reservation, payment and a tenant portal are in the Establish package. Unit Manager Pro includes a branded tenant portal in every plan.

Does Storage Commander have a free trial?

Its pricing page does not mention one; it offers demos. Unit Manager Pro gives 14 days with no credit card.

How do I switch from Storage Commander?

Request an export, create units in Unit Manager Pro, test a small import, reconcile balances and agree cutover dates. Tenants may need to authorise payment again.

What does Unit Manager Pro include?

Every feature in every plan: a booking website, online booking and e-signed agreements, a branded tenant portal, automated card and bank payments through your own Stripe account, invoices, reminders and notices, and gate and smart-lock integration set up by our team.

Get the self-storage operator newsletter

Practical tips on rent collection, occupancy and growth. One email a fortnight, no spam.