Unit Manager Pro
Comparison

Stora Alternatives: Features and Prices Compared (2026)

By The Unit Manager Pro Team · 6 April 2026 · 7 min read · Updated 25 October 2026

Person carrying a box from one storage unit into a brighter empty one

Stora is a tiered platform that starts at 50 units and adds gate automation on its higher plans. Unit Manager Pro has one flat rate per leased unit with every feature included, no tier to climb, and multi-site on request. The table below puts the two side by side.

Watch: Unit Manager Pro in under a minute.

14-day free trial · No credit card required · Cancel anytime

Stora vs Unit Manager Pro at a glance

Unit Manager Pro is published by us. Every fact about Stora below comes from its public website, so you can check it yourself and see why operators switch.

Stora vs Unit Manager Pro: features and prices
Unit Manager ProStora
Price£1.25 per leased unit a month up to 20 leased units, or 1% of rent collected capped at £2.50 per leased unit. Empty units cost nothing. Stripe fees are separate.Essentials, Advanced and Premium plans. No prices shown; “pricing starts at 50 units”. Monthly, or yearly with two months free. Onboarding fee varies.
Minimum chargeNone. You pay only for leased units, from your first one“Pricing starts at 50 units”
Free trial14 days, no credit card“Try it free” sign-up; length not stated
Website and online bookingWebsite builder and online booking included in every planOnline booking, customisable website and self-service portal on all three plans
PaymentsCard and BACS Direct Debit through your own Stripe account, with a saved-card retry if a debit failsRecurring card payments and Direct Debit on all plans
Tenant portalBranded tenant portal includedSelf-service portal on all plans
Gate accessGate and smart-lock integration set up per account by our team; tell us your hardwareAdvanced and Premium; Essentials mentions smart entry through its app marketplace
Multi-siteAvailable on request; our team scopes it with youNot stated on its pricing page
Best suited toIndependent and growing operators who want no minimums, pay-per-leased-unit pricing and gates and extra sites set up for themOperators with 50+ units who want tiered plans and gate automation
Stora details come from its public website, checked 24 October 2026. “Not stated” means the site gives no detail, not that the feature is missing. Unit Manager Pro details are ours, and we publish this page, so confirm both in writing before you buy.

What Stora and Unit Manager Pro cost

Stora does not show a full price list, so the right-hand column says so. Unit Manager Pro’s figures are below; ask Stora for a written quote on the same units and rent and compare the monthly totals.

Monthly software cost at 20, 50 and 100 leased units
Your facilityUnit Manager ProStora
20 leased units£25 (20 × £1.25)Quote only
50 leased units at £100 rent£50 (1% of £100 × 50)Quote only
100 leased units at £100 rent£100 (1% of £100 × 100)Quote only
Subscription only, per month. Unit Manager Pro examples use Pay As You Grow (up to 20 leased units) and Growth (1% of rent collected, capped at £2.50 per unit). Card and bank fees are extra on every system. You pay only for leased units, never for empty ones or the total size of your facility.

Why Unit Manager Pro beats Stora

  • You pay for leased units, not the size of your facility. A 200-unit site with 50 units let pays for 50. Empty units cost nothing, so your bill only grows when your income does.
  • No minimum charge. Start paying from your first leased unit, with no tiers or unit-count bands.
  • One flat rate, everything included. Website, online booking, branded tenant portal, automated billing, notices, and gate and smart-lock set-up are all included in one flat rate, with no add-ons.
  • No minimum. Stora’s plans start at 50 units; Unit Manager Pro charges from your first leased unit.
  • Gates and smart locks set up for you. Our team integrates your gate or smart-lock hardware on your account; tell us what you have.
  • More than one site? Multi-site is available on request, and our team scopes it with you.
  • A published price, so you know the bill before you talk to anyone.

What Stora offers, and the catch

Stora has some features worth knowing about. Most come with a catch: a quote instead of a published price, a higher tier, or an extra monthly fee. Unit Manager Pro covers the everyday needs of independent operators without them.

  • Gate and smart-entry integrations on Advanced and Premium, plus an app marketplace.
  • Auto-allocation, auto-overlocking, debt collections and a public API on Advanced and above.
  • Premium has unlimited team members, custom roles and phone support.

Our verdict: Unit Manager Pro

For independent and growing operators, Unit Manager Pro is the clear choice over Stora.

  • Unit Manager Pro wins if: you want no minimum and a price you can check yourself, or you have fewer than 50 units.
  • Everything is included. Website, online booking, branded tenant portal, automated billing, notices, and gate and smart-lock set-up are all included in one flat rate, with no add-ons.
  • You pay only for leased units. Empty units cost nothing, so your bill follows your occupancy.
  • You can prove it in 14 days. Start a free trial with no credit card and run a real booking, payment and rent change. Our software comparison shows how.

Switching from Stora to Unit Manager Pro

Moving is mostly a records job, not a technology job. Do these in order, and keep Stora running until the last step is done.

  • Ask Stora for a full export of tenants, units, balances and signed agreements, and check the format before you cancel anything.
  • Create your units in Unit Manager Pro first, then import a small tenant file as a test.
  • Reconcile balances, deposits and credits by hand. The tenant import is not an accounting-history import.
  • Agree the last collection date in Stora and the first in Unit Manager Pro. Tenants may need to authorise payment again.
  • Read the migration guide for what the import does and does not carry across.

Switching from Stora? We will help you plan it

Start a 14-day free trial with no credit card, or book a 20-minute demo. Bring your current quote and your gate hardware, and we will show the cost and the set-up on your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions

Why switch from Stora to Unit Manager Pro?

Unit Manager Pro gives you a published price with no minimum, charges only for leased units and includes the website, online booking, tenant portal, billing, notices and gate set-up in one flat rate. You can try it for 14 days with no credit card and our team helps you move from Stora.

Is Unit Manager Pro cheaper than Stora?

Stora does not show prices on its public pricing page, only that “pricing starts at 50 units”, so we cannot give a fair number. Unit Manager Pro is £25 a month for 20 leased units. Ask Stora for a written quote for the same units and compare.

Does Stora have a free trial?

Its pricing page has a “Try it free” button but does not say how long the trial lasts. Unit Manager Pro gives 14 days with no credit card.

Does Stora support Direct Debit?

Yes: its pricing page lists recurring card payments and Direct Debit on all three plans. Unit Manager Pro collects card and BACS Direct Debit through your own Stripe account.

How do I switch from Stora?

Export your tenants and units, create the units in Unit Manager Pro first, test a small tenant file, reconcile balances, then agree the last collection in Stora and the first in Unit Manager Pro. Tenants may need to authorise payment again.

What does Unit Manager Pro include?

Every feature in every plan: a booking website, online booking and e-signed agreements, a branded tenant portal, automated card and bank payments through your own Stripe account, invoices, reminders and notices, and gate and smart-lock integration set up by our team.

Get the self-storage operator newsletter

Practical tips on rent collection, occupancy and growth. One email a fortnight, no spam.