Unit Manager Pro
Comparison

6Storage Alternatives: Features and Prices Compared (2026)

By The Unit Manager Pro Team · 24 October 2026 · 7 min read · Updated 25 October 2026

Printed feature comparison sheet with ticks next to a tablet showing a storage dashboard

6Storage prices by custom quote and sells website services and its 6Security access product separately. Unit Manager Pro publishes one flat rate per leased unit, includes the booking website, tenant portal, billing and gate set-up, and supports multiple sites on request. The tables show the difference.

Watch: Unit Manager Pro in under a minute.

14-day free trial · No credit card required · Cancel anytime

6Storage vs Unit Manager Pro at a glance

Unit Manager Pro is published by us. Every fact about 6Storage below comes from its public website, so you can check it yourself and see why operators switch.

6Storage vs Unit Manager Pro: features and prices
Unit Manager Pro6Storage
Price$1.25 per leased unit a month up to 20 leased units, or 1% of rent collected capped at $2.50 per leased unit. Empty units cost nothing. Stripe fees are separate.No fixed prices; custom quote based on unit count, workflow and growth goals.
Minimum chargeNone. You pay only for leased units, from your first oneNot published
Free trial14 days, no credit cardFree demo; trial not stated
Website and online bookingWebsite builder and online booking included in every planOnline rentals with e-lease and e-sign; website services are an add-on
PaymentsCard and ACH through your own Stripe accountAutomatic invoicing, reminders, late fees and payment-processor integrations
Tenant portalBranded tenant portal includedSimple tenant portal listed with the website add-on
Gate accessGate and smart-lock integration set up per account by our team; tell us your hardwareGate-access partner integrations; a separate product, 6Security, covers access control
Multi-siteAvailable on request, set up and scoped by our team at the same flat rate modelAll locations in one account and one dashboard
Best suited toIndependent and growing operators who want no minimums, pay-per-leased-unit pricing and gates and extra sites set up for themOperators willing to wait for a custom quote and pay separately for website services and access control
6Storage details come from its public website, checked 24 October 2026. “Not stated” means the site gives no detail, not that the feature is missing. Unit Manager Pro details are ours, and we publish this page, so confirm both in writing before you buy.

What 6Storage and Unit Manager Pro cost

6Storage does not show a full price list, so the right-hand column says so. Unit Manager Pro’s figures are below; ask 6Storage for a written quote on the same units and rent and compare the monthly totals.

Monthly software cost at 20, 50 and 100 leased units
Your facilityUnit Manager Pro6Storage
20 leased units$25 (20 × $1.25)Quote only
50 leased units at $100 rent$50 (1% of $100 × 50)Quote only
100 leased units at $100 rent$100 (1% of $100 × 100)Quote only
Subscription only, per month. Unit Manager Pro examples use Pay As You Grow (up to 20 leased units) and Growth (1% of rent collected, capped at $2.50 per unit). Card and bank fees are extra on every system. You pay only for leased units, never for empty ones or the total size of your facility.

Why Unit Manager Pro beats 6Storage

  • You pay for leased units, not the size of your facility. A 200-unit site with 50 units let pays for 50. Empty units cost nothing, so your bill only grows when your income does.
  • No minimum charge. Start paying from your first leased unit, with no tiers or unit-count bands.
  • One flat rate, everything included. Website, online booking, branded tenant portal, automated billing, notices, and gate and smart-lock set-up are all included in one flat rate, with no add-ons.
  • Gates and smart locks set up for you. Our team integrates your gate or smart-lock hardware on your account; tell us what you have.
  • More than one site? Multi-site is available on request, and our team scopes it with you.
  • Published pricing and a 14-day free trial, where 6Storage offers a demo.
  • Website builder and tenant portal included in the same plan.

What 6Storage offers, and the catch

6Storage has some features worth knowing about. Most come with a catch: a quote instead of a published price, a higher tier, or an extra monthly fee. Unit Manager Pro covers the everyday needs of independent operators without them.

  • All locations in one account and one dashboard.
  • Gate-access partner integrations, plus a separate access-control product.
  • E-lease and e-sign, and automatic late-fee calculations.

Our verdict: Unit Manager Pro

For independent and growing operators, Unit Manager Pro is the clear choice over 6Storage.

  • Unit Manager Pro wins if: you want a transparent price with no minimum that you can try without talking to sales, with extra sites available on request.
  • Everything is included. Website, online booking, branded tenant portal, automated billing, notices, and gate and smart-lock set-up are all included in one flat rate, with no add-ons.
  • You pay only for leased units. Empty units cost nothing, so your bill follows your occupancy.
  • You can prove it in 14 days. Start a free trial with no credit card and run a real booking, payment and rent change. Our software comparison shows how.

Switching from 6Storage to Unit Manager Pro

Moving is mostly a records job, not a technology job. Do these in order, and keep 6Storage running until the last step is done.

  • Ask 6Storage for a full export of tenants, units, balances and signed agreements, and check the format before you cancel anything.
  • Create your units in Unit Manager Pro first, then import a small tenant file as a test.
  • Reconcile balances, deposits and credits by hand. The tenant import is not an accounting-history import.
  • Agree the last collection date in 6Storage and the first in Unit Manager Pro. Tenants may need to authorise payment again.
  • Read the migration guide for what the import does and does not carry across.

Switching from 6Storage? We will help you plan it

Start a 14-day free trial with no credit card, or book a 20-minute demo. Bring your current quote and your gate hardware, and we will show the cost and the set-up on your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions

Why switch from 6Storage to Unit Manager Pro?

Unit Manager Pro gives you a published price with no minimum, charges only for leased units and includes the website, online booking, tenant portal, billing, notices and gate set-up in one flat rate. You can try it for 14 days with no credit card and our team helps you move from 6Storage.

How much does 6Storage cost?

6Storage does not list fixed pricing. It says prices depend on unit count, workflow and growth goals, and asks you to contact it for a custom quote. Unit Manager Pro publishes its price: you pay only for leased units, with no minimum, no setup fee and every feature included.

Does 6Storage support multiple locations?

Yes, 6Storage offers multi-location management, but on a custom quote. Unit Manager Pro also supports multiple sites on request, with our team setting them up for you and pricing kept transparent per leased unit.

Does 6Storage have a free trial?

Its site offers a free demo and does not describe a free trial. Unit Manager Pro gives 14 days with no credit card.

How do I switch from 6Storage?

Request an export, create units in Unit Manager Pro, test a small import, reconcile balances and agree cutover dates. Tenants may need to authorise payment again.

What does Unit Manager Pro include?

Every feature in every plan: a booking website, online booking and e-signed agreements, a branded tenant portal, automated card and bank payments through your own Stripe account, invoices, reminders and notices, and gate and smart-lock integration set up by our team.

Get the self-storage operator newsletter

Practical tips on rent collection, occupancy and growth. One email a fortnight, no spam.